Illustration by Bolton Graduate Helen Naylor

University of Bolton graduate and founder of Pocket Wren Helen Naylor is next to take centre stage on Business Boom. Having built up years of freelance experience, predominantly in the children’s book market, Helen has since opened her online shop and is now concentrating on expanding her range of “fun and whimsical” designs. 

“I love to draw and create beautiful things and as far back as I can remember art has always been an important part of my life. I grew up in Yorkshire with the Dales on my doorstep, but have since made the controversial move across the Pennines to Lancashire and I am now based in Bolton. Both counties have spoilt me with their wonderful outside spaces and varied landscapes, which I regularly explore with the dog in tow. My love of the outdoors has influenced my work significantly. Nature and wildlife are my favourite subjects and can be seen throughout my work.”

ferris wheel

“Since graduating with a degree in Art and Design from the University of Bolton in 2002, I have worked on many projects, within the children’s book market, as a freelance illustrator. I am now starting an exciting new venture, opening an online shop called Pocket Wren. I am still creating fun and whimsical images for my products, but with a slightly more grown up feel. I use a mix of traditional methods and digital techniques to produce my illustrations. I love to experiment and find new ways to make images. At the moment I am exploring the process of transferring my illustrations onto a range of different products for Pocket Wren. I currently offer prints, badges and bags all created with care by me. It’s keeping me very busy and my range is expanding all the time!”

green birds seagulls ????? street turtle zebra

See more from Helen on her blogEtsy store and on Facebook

Comments are closed.

