Illustration by Manchester’s Caroline Dowsett

Caroline Dowsett is a freelance illustrator based in Manchester currently in her second year of studying Graphic Design at Manchester Metropolitan University. Inspired by “pop culture, film, people, graphic novels and everyday life,” Caroline is continuing to develop her own style throughout her education and is now looking prepare for her third and final year. 

“I started doing illustration on my Art foundation where when I was told to draw free hand whilst in a life drawing class, that my tutor and I found that I had a certain illustrative style, which I decided to practice on and I have never looked back!

I began taking part in Print fairs in 2011 where I had my first stall at the Manchester Print fair, and that’s where my love for fairs started. I love interacting with both the customers and the other sellers, hearing their stories and seeing their work, it is such a big inspiration for me. I have taken part in every Manchester Print fair since, along with the Salford Zine gallery fair and Liverpool Inprint.”

“My work is strongly influenced by Pop culture, Film, People, Graphic novels and everyday life.I am a Bill Murray enthusiast, so I decided to make some Bill Murray Fan Club badges at the beginning of last year to put on my online shop where I found there are many Murray admirers out there! It was a fun little collection for me to make.

This year for me is about expanding my craft and illustration skills and combining them. I recently made some screen printed hand-sewn cushions which I adored making. Putting my illustrations onto different media is something I am really exploring at the moment. I am currently working on a new collection of work with a view to exhibit very soon!”

See more from Caroline Dowsett on Tumblr, her Etsy store and on Twitter @carolinedowsett.

Comments
One Response to “Illustration by Manchester’s Caroline Dowsett”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Illustration by Manchester’s Caroline Dowsett […]



