Games Design Student Hannah Spikings

Hannah Spikings is currently in the middle of her second year at University of Central Lancashire studying Games Design. With some fantastic work to boast in her portfolio, Hannah is on the right track to land her dream job as a concept artist within the games industry.

“Drawing has always been a part of my life for as long as I can remember, but I started taking it seriously when I was around 14 years old. From there on, I always strived to learn as much as I could about the medium with whatever time I had spare. There’s so much artwork that sprouts up on the internet showcasing in-house concepts, but due to the the sheer mass of imagery, it’s getting more and more difficult to stand out. Because of this, I try to make each piece I draw uniquely mine and unlike anything else seen on the internet.”

4Titanium

“A huge chunk of my influences come from deviantart every day, and to a lesser extent tumblr. A couple of my favourite artists which need to be looked at by one and all would be Shaun Healey (aka Endling), and Caleb Thomas (dCTb), both of which draw like complete geniuses. Other than the internet, a lot of my ideas come from listening to way too much music from a multitude of genres, all day and every day! Branching out the musical tastes really keeps the mind fresh with ideas, and helps you find beautiful music in the most unexpected places.”

2 1

“Right now I’m concentrating on getting through my university course and learning as much as I can. In whatever spare time I get, I try to develop my own personal graphic novel, which has been in the works for three and a half years. More on that can be found on my deviantart, or on my tumblr that’s specifically dedicated to the project.”6Yellow 3 5

See more from Hannah Spikings on her portfolio, Tumblr and Deviantart.

Comments are closed.

