Fashion Designer Katie Davidson of KMD Designs

Today we see some of the latest work and meet the creative mind behind KMDdesigns; Liverpool John Moores University Fashion Design student Katie Davidson is now in her final year and is excited to enter the industry upon graduation in the summer.

“KMDdesigns started with people approaching me to make them dresses for parties and special events, and I quickly learned that I was quite good at picking up on what a particular person’s style was, and what they wanted from me as a designer. It has developed into a business which I will be running full time after I graduate.”

Catwalkx6

“I have always had an interest in clothing; it has been present for as long as I can remember. When I was little I used to make clothes for my toys from the scraps of my mother’s sewing box. I remember our Year 3 class being asked to draw what we wanted to be when we grew up. Aged 8, others drew themselves as doctors or police officers; I spent so much time drawing the dress that I was wearing that I can’t remember what I actually wanted to be – I still remember the dress though!

My mum taught me how to use her domestic machine when I was around 11, and I haven’t looked back since. I started high school, and my textiles class, already knowing how to use the machinery and make basic things like cushions, and spent a fair few lunch times in the machine room learning how to adapt fashion patterns to what I had in my head. Having completed my GCSEs and gained a fair grounding in commercial patterns, I went on to Winstanley College, where I studied A levels including Art: Textile Design and Art: 3D Design, and then went on to do my Art Foundation. In the meantime KMDdesigns, in its fundamental stages, was born through my desire to continue developing my fashion and manufacture skills, combined with a new catalyst – customers!”

lineupAW12

lineup and specs AW12

“I am currently in my 3rd and final year of studying Fashion Design at Liverpool John Moores University; developing my final collection of 6 outfits. I have also been working on several creative collaborations with photographers around the northwest, including Mark Cavendish, Eleanor Gregory and Sarah Gibson; and I am working with two customers at the moment on suit designs for the new year, following the success of my first bespoke suit earlier this year.”

Shoot1

shoot2

Complete Transformation

You can find KMDdesigns on Facebook, @KMDdesigns on Twitter, Tumblr and DeviantART.

Comments are closed.

