John Moores University Illustrator Rachel Davey

Today we look at the inspiring work of  illustrator and third year student Rachel Davey. Currently at Liverpool John Moores University, Rachel is flourishing as an artist and designer, experimenting with pattern and colour to create some eye-catching editorial illustration.  

“My latest project is a run of fifteen double sided A2 posters, which fold down to become A5 booklets. Although linked, each booklet varies in colour and layout; enabling the viewers to pick their favourites. The overlaying patterns within the book have created vibrant, trippy visuals. These patterns have the ability to provoke unique thoughts from viewers, reminding them of numerous different things.

I’m interested in editorial illustration and enjoy designing book covers. I like to place my own stamp on varying subjects. I’m currently working on the House of Illustration’s competition, to illustrate Aldous Huxley’s ‘Brave New World’; using the layering techniques I’ve learnt via screen printing to influence my digital work. I take pride in creating all my primary sources by hand, and use Photoshop to assist rather than to create. I find that within many subjects, whether music, design, literature or illustration; creating depth is possibly the most important factor, and is something I aim to create within my own work.

I’m generally inspired by meticulously detailed illustrations and admire the work of J.J Grandville, Sir John Tenniel, Edward Gorey and Erica Il Cane. I endeavour to create a similar level of detail, with the additions of colour and collage, to make a piece of work my own.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See more from Rachel on her Tumblr page and @RachelDavey6 on Twitter.

Comments are closed.

