Communication Design Student David Whitfield

With a background in fine art, David Whitfield now focuses on various areas of design including web, print and brand work. Currently based in Altrincham, the University of Leeds student is completing a year in industry and gaining valuable experience at If agency.

“I had known since high school that I wanted to pursue a career within a creative field. Leading up to and during college, I had been very fine art focused. It wasn’t until spending two weeks at an advertising agency in Manchester that I knew which creative field I wanted to work my way into. The short stay completely changed the way I thought about art and design, I began to study design and think more conceptually. Since then I have been studying Graphic and Communication Design at the University of Leeds and I am in my third year. My fine art background combined with what I’ve learnt at University, have lead me to the work I produce today.”

“I enjoy working on brand design, print and web though I try to build my work from the idea up. This has allowed me to find my work going in directions I wouldn’t naturally think of, whether it be a piece of motion design or an ambient media campaign. I find inspiration everywhere and anywhere, whether it be on a blog, in a book or everyday life.”

DavidWhitfield-01DavidWhitfield-04DavidWhitfield-03DavidWhitfield-05

“At the moment I am on a year in industry working at the If agency in Altrincham. I have found myself working on a variety of clients and consequently a range of work. It has been exciting to work in a fast paced creative environment and to learn from the people that surround me, all of which will inspire my work and increase my enthusiasm for design.”

DavidWhitfield-06

See more on David’s website at www.dwhitfielddesign.co.uk and Twitter @dwhitdesign.

Comments are closed.

