Fine Art Photographer Rebecca Dixon

Rebecca Dixon is a fine art photographer and curator based in Manchester. Her main interests lie in the study of photography as an examination of nostalgia and memory and she has undertaken a variety of exhibited projects and installations with the aim of gaining better insight into how photography relates to the psyche of both the artist and the viewer, from the production stage to presentation within the gallery.

Graduating from the University of Bolton in 2011 with a first class degree in photography, Rebecca has just completed a postgraduate qualification in Contemporary Curating. She has used this vital research into the implications of the photographic gallery space to inform her personal projects, and it has ignited her passion for supporting the commission and development of bodies of work by fellow artists and photographers.

“After finishing school, I was dead set on pursuing a career in journalism – I’d always enjoyed writing and dreamt of the glitzy glamorous lifestyle of a music journalist. At Sixth Form College I took a whimsical chance on a new photography course in the art department, purely to fill my quota of A-Level choices. I’d always been arty at school, and thought it might be great to try out a new art form that might come in handy for my journalism school application. However, my A-Level in photography affected me in a very different way. Always nostalgic about my family photographs, I became obsessed with discovering what they really meant to me, and why. I began to deconstruct the very nature of photography and the camera itself, and it sparked a style of work that became very personal and important to me. I dropped out of journalism school a few weeks after starting and I began to instinctively follow the urge to make a career out of photography. I eventually enrolled at Bolton University to study the subject, and, guided by some inspirational tutors, graduated with first class honours in 2011.

It was at Bolton University that I became interested in the way photography is used nostalgically not just in our personal lives, but in galleries and museums too. Influenced by my own family snapshots and photographers such as Nick Waplington, Elizabeth Fleming and Doug DuBois, my projects at Bolton were mainly made up of casual, colourful snapshots.

I have always considered the spatial aspects of the physical nature of the photograph, and how and where they exist, as well as their content. I also developed a passion for traditional film cameras, and experimented with everything from 35mm to disposable cameras, eventually selling all of my digital equipment to buy a medium format Hasselblad camera – and I’ve never looked back! It became apparent that studio, commercial or journalistic styles of photography were not for me, and I made the difficult decision (in current climes!) to follow the more artistic route.

I went on to study for a Postgraduate qualification in Contemporary Curating at Manchester Metropolitan University, with the aim of understanding the spaces and places we choose to look at photography. During this postgraduate year I flitted between obsessions with photography archives, history, nostalgia, and everything old; before embracing the idea that contemporary photography can now exist in so many exciting shapes, forms and concepts.

Since graduating this Autumn, I have continued to make my own work and I’m currently working on a photo documentary that makes a lighthearted comparison between the traditional philosopher’s hut, and the modern eccentric shed builder. I am also working alongside Creative Industries Trafford and Arts Council England to plan a series of creative photography workshops, with the aim of helping visual artists and photographers develop personal projects, ending in a group exhibition next year.

I also work part-time at The Lowry Galleries, which I love, and this has offered up some great opportunities – earlier this month I was asked to assist a renowned social documentary photographer with an exciting project to be featured at the gallery in January 2013…. so watch this space!”

See more from Rebecca Dixon on her website and @rebecca_kathryn on Twitter.

Comments are closed.

