Menswear Fashion Designer Emily Relton

Based down in London, Emily Relton is a menswear fashion designer with a focus on print and knitwear based design. A recent graduate of the Manchester School of Art, here she shares some of her fashion portfolio.

“I recently graduated from the Manchester School of Art with a First Class Honours in Fashion design and the opportunity to showcase my collection on the catwalk at London’s annual Graduate Fashion Week. During my time in Manchester, I focused on design and realisation in menswear through experimenting with the restrictions on the industry and exploiting quirky aspects of design that push the boundaries between the stereotypical and the outrageous.

My designs are for the fashion savvy man who is not afraid to make bold statements and demonstrate an urban edge. Street style photography and images documenting different tribes and cultures are often a starting point for the research process. For my graduate collection the research was based on Inuit dress and culture, in particular their rituals and beliefs in Shamanism. To make it contemporary these references were crossed with images of 80’s Brooklyn street style from photographer Jamel Shabazz’s book ‘Back in the Days’. The collection titled, ‘Ghetto Shaman’ portrayed the story of a Brooklyn boy becoming a Shaman God through the playful and quirky mix of prints, fabrics and knitted textures.

Now that I have finished university I am currently dividing my time between part-time work and an internship with Dodd clothing. I am a finalist in the Fast Fashion Young Graduates 2012 competition and looking forward to exhibiting my work over their two day event in October. As my level of industry experience grows I hope to secure myself a more permanent design role and continue my passion for menswear. There is currently a really strong set of young designers waving the flag for Britain in both men’s and womenswear and I would love to become a part of that.”

Follow Emily Relton on her Arts Thread Portfolio and @Emmi_FR on twitter.

Comments are closed.

