Interview Creative Marketer Marge Ainsley

Marge was voted one of the 50 best freelancers in the UK (2012) by The Drum marketing magazine readers. Marge is also a member of the Northwest Federation of Museums, and the Yorkshire and Humberside Federation of Museums.

Who is Marge? How do you fit into the online world?

Marge is a creative marketer. I run my own business offering marketing, PR and evaluation support to all sorts of organisations, but mainly work in the cultural sector across the Northwest, Northeast and Yorkshire. I help organisations get to grips with the online world and what’s going to work best for them in their campaigns, project management or research.


How are you involved on a local scale? Are there any groups or events you enjoy to frequent?

I’m the Northwest member rep for the Arts Marketing Association so organise regular network meetings for that (non-members and members). I work with various organisations in the region – ranging from organisations such as Manchester Art Gallery and Bolton Museums through to Rosehill Theatre up in the Western Lake District. I’ve just applied to be a trustee for Tramshed, an inclusive theatre company based in Blackpool.

Which are your favourite websites to visit and read on a weekly basis?

Well from a work point of view I’ve got these on my Google Reader:

Museum chat from across the pond, from the fab Nina Simon – Museum 2.0
Needs no introduction – Mashable
Art and digital – Fresher and Newer
The newish Guardian resource and scribblings – Culture Pro’s
These guys voted me as one of the top 50 freelancer’s in the UK this year, great marketing articles and discussions – The Drum

Who are your 5 favourite people to follow on twitter?

Hmm. That’s a tough one. Here’s a few:

@artspro (to keep up to speed with the latest arts news and jobs)
@uk_music_news (for all my music info)
@museumsheffield (I used to work there)
@jaspervisser (for alsorts of innovative cultural chat)
@documentally (social media guru)

How do you like to switch off outside of work?

Gig going. Real ale drinking. Seaside visiting. Alot of walking in search of pre-historic mounds….Anglezarke, Rivington and so on. I also do a bit of running and recently did my third Great North Run, raising money for the British Heart Foundation.

Follow Marge Ainsley on her Website and @margelicious.

Comments
One Response to “Interview Creative Marketer Marge Ainsley”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Business Boom Bolton interview […]



