Freelance Graphic Designer Sam Jones

Sam Jones has had a passion for art and design since an early age and over the years, he has honed in his skill and enthusiasm to become a full-time freelance graphic designer. Having studied at Plymouth College of Art, Sam gained experience in various design fields, creating  record covers, websites, band logos and promotional materials. Now he concentrates on brand identity, design for print, web design and illustration and it’s a pleasure to showcase his work here today.

“My introduction to design came when I was 11 years old after discovering a copy of Paint Shop Pro on my Dad’s PC. I taught myself how to use it by reading what tutorials I could find online and experimenting with what I’d learnt. Two years and countless hours of practice later, I found myself doing work for my first paying client. Of course technically I had no idea what I was doing, I was 13 and didn’t even know the difference between RGB and CYMK, but as a way to make a bit of money it beat a paper round hands down.

After having that experience and realising that I could make money by doing something I enjoyed, I spent the next few years practicing my skills and freelancing part-time as I worked my way through high school, before going to college to do a BTEC National Diploma in Graphic Design. After that I went on to do a Foundation Degree before moving to Plymouth for a year to study at the College of Art in order to obtain my BA (Hons) in Graphic Design.

A month before I moved to Plymouth I was offered a part-time job at SONS Records (formerly Soul of North Staffs Limited), a local record label here in Stoke-on-Trent, which saw me take on the role of one man art department. Here I had the opportunity to work on numerous projects ranging from record covers, to websites, band logos and promotional materials. I still remember the first time I walked into HMV and saw one of my designs on the shelf; it was one of those moments where I had to pinch myself.

Once I returned from Plymouth my role at SONS became a full-time gig although it wasn’t long before I stopped working in-house and set out as a full-time freelancer. Since then I’ve been fortunate enough to keep the work coming in and met some great people along the way, although I’m always on the lookout for exciting new projects to get involved in. The work I do spans a number of different areas such as brand identity, design for print, web design and illustration.”

Follow more of Sam Jones on his Website, Dribble and @sivioco on Twitter.

Comments are closed.

