Graphic Designer Laura Jackson

Manchester Metropolitan University graduate and Graphic designer Laura Jackson is next to feature on Business Boom. With a passion for typography, Laura is now looking for further opportunities to do what she loves in the professional arena. 

“I have recently graduated from Manchester Metropolitan University with a First Class BA Hons degree in Graphic Design and I am now looking forward to the next step in my design career. My course provided me with opportunities to experience and research many and varied creative aspects and challenged and stretched me more than I thought possible. I feel that I have achieved much during the last three years and I can clearly see my development and how I have my own distinct style. I am influenced by many things and they constantly change as I am always on the lookout for ways to improve. However, one of my favourite sources of inspiration at the moment is ‘Printed Matter” by Karel Martens, I constantly just find myself flicking through this book showcasing his huge range of work. I am really interested in his mono prints made from found materials and mechanical parts.

I have a love for typography and, although I appreciate all the classics, I thoroughly enjoy creating my own fonts. I tend to create clean and elegant designs with an experimental twist displaying ideas thought out meticulously and thoroughly. I am always striving for original concepts: what is the point in having beautiful design without a strong idea or theme? I feel I have a diverse and interesting approach to design and pay great attention to detail.

I am currently on an internship in Salford for a month and I am constantly on the look out for other opportunities and projects so please get in touch if you like what you see. For more information or to request a CV please feel free to get in touch via email or visit my online portfolio site to view more of my work.”

See more of Laura’s work on her website at http://cargocollective.com/laurarosejackson and contact at lrjdesign@hotmail.co.uk.

Comments are closed.

