Motion and Graphic Designer Stephen Dewsnap

Having recently graduated from the University of Salford, Manchester’s freelance motion and graphic designer Stephen Dewsnap is now looking to build up his portfolio and gain experience in both production companies and design studios.

“My work is a combination of illustration, branding and motion graphics. I draw influence mainly from old packaging and advertisements, I’m a sucker for retro, traditional-feel design styles. The best way I can describe it is classic British working class design. I would say that Manchester’s industrial history has had a huge influence on my work. Some of the old factories and mills and the cities wonderful architecture also gives me a good source of inspiration.

Prepare & Survive: Alien Invasion from Stephen Dewsnap on Vimeo.

I believe my motion work adds a new dimension to my designs, I think its quite an interesting area to be in at the moment. I would love to work in television, producing title sequences and credits, Its quite a niche area of work but its something that has always interested me when watching films and TV programs. I recently worked on two live projects, both at Media City, Salford Quays. I produced several motion pieces for the live, week long collaboration event called ‘Decode/Recode’ and my role as film crew assistant during filming for a series of short films for the event ‘Seven Days in June’ really inspired me to pursue a career in television.”

Prepare & Survive: Alien Abduction from Stephen Dewsnap on Vimeo.

You can see more of Stephen’s work on his website at www.stephendewsnap.co.uk, Facebook, Behance and Twitter @StephenDewsnap.

Comments are closed.

