Three Dimensional Design Graduate Charlotte Mcalees

Charlotte Mcalees has just graduated from Manchester Metropolitan University studying Three Dimensional Design and like many others, enters the professional world with exciting prospects. With an interest in upcycling, Charlotte concentrates on giving unwanted furniture new designs and characters and has ambitions to one day start her own company. 

“I completed a BTEC National Diploma in Art and Design at the Manchester college in 2009 and went on to study a BA Hons in Three Dimensional Design which I completed in 2012 giving me the opportunity to exhibit my work in the New Designers exhibition in the Business Design centre in London. During my college years I became interested in the term ‘upcycling’ and started to create decorative lighting using a number of found objects, but during my final year at university I started to experiment with ways of re-using second hand furniture.

The motivation behind my work is my concern regarding the amount of discarded, unwanted furniture thrown away each year. I re-use furniture which has lost its appeal and upcycle it to give it a higher value and extended lifetime, at the same time injecting character and individuality into each piece. The furniture is transformed using laser cut coloured laminate to create unique pattern which have been inspired by the 1950’s.

My future ambition would be to have my own workshop and eventually start my own furniture upcycling company.”

Comments are closed.

