Illustrator and Surface Pattern Designer Lydia Meiying

Business Boom Bolton’s week kicks off with inspirational illustrator and surface designer Lydia Meiying. Now based in Manchester, Lydia is working as a freelance designer, concentrating on exhibiting her work as well as developing new products such as greeting cards and totes. 

“I completed a foundation course in Textiles at Stockport College before moving to Leeds to study Printed Textiles and Surface Pattern Design at Leeds College of Art. After graduating in 2008, I completed various work experiences in design studios in London to gain experience of the industry and working commercially. I now work as a freelance designer, designing illustrations and patterns for interiors, fashion, stationary and trend forecasting.

My work tends to draw on nature, especially birds and flowers, and I love to use bold, bright colours in my designs and mix hand drawn elements with CAD.

I currently have an exhibition at the Chinese Arts Centre in which I have wallpapered the First Step Stairwell with a design created especially for the space. The design features colours and motifs which are prevalent in Eastern design and drawn on Chinese culture, heritage and mythology.

At the moment I am looking to expand the range the products that my patterns and illustrations are available on, I have a new range of greeting cards available and am currently working on a range on totes.”

See more from Lydia on her website at www.hellomeiying.com, Facebook and Twitter @LydiaMeiying.

Comments are closed.

