Graphic Designer Amy Kett

Graphic designer Amy Kett graduated last summer with a MA in Communication Design from the University of Salford, and now works at Waggledance, an advertising agency in Manchester. 

“With its fast moving thriving industry, I have always found graphic design to be an extremely fascinating and exciting area in which to work. The desire to create original and thought provoking ideas presents me with the challenge to be imaginative and innovative whether it be to create new or recreate the old and weary. I enjoy the unlimited scope to use all areas of graphic design and print based media, especially information design and exploring traditional design methods.

I really enjoyed my time at the University of Salford and would recommend the Masters course at Salford to everyone – it pushed me both academically and professionally, forcing me to focus on what area of design I enjoy the most. My final piece of work merged craft and information design, creating a celebrationary quilt for the 40th anniversary of the Glastonbury Festival of Contemporary Performing Arts. This piece consists of forty patches, one for each year that Glastonbury has been running. Each year has been set a theme that through research was identified as a key element to the festivals achievements, stance and history. I even presented this to Michael Eavis at last year’s festival!

Along side my studies I freelanced as much as possible picking up invaluable experience, in both agency and independent work. I was very happy to be asked to createinfographics for Coachella Festival’s magazine, CAMP for the last two years – a direct result of my MA work. Despite all this hard work and experience, my grandma is convinced that she gave me a creative spark by teaching me so many crafts as a child so I definitely have her to thank for sharing her creativity and being one of my biggest influences.

For me blogging has emerged as a priceless method for developing and archiving thoughts and ideas. Here I post all inspiration as well as on twitter, I’m constantly looking for inspiration – things I like the most I post on my blog or tweet. I love buying design books too! My aim for now is to continue grabbing every opportunity I can to learn, develop and nurture my skills in order to progress my career as a successful graphic designer.”

Catch Amy Kett on her blog at www.amykett.com/, Behance and Twitter @AmyKett.

Comments are closed.

