Artist & Designer Pamela Holstein

Liverpool’s Pamela Holstein is next on the Business Boom list of features. Having studied at Middlesex Polytechnic and the Royal College of Art, Pamela has a good depth of knowledge to apply to her work, which she describes as being “inspired by love of the natural world.”


“I am an artist and designer working in a range of disciplines, based in Breeze Studios in Liverpool city centre. I studied three dimensional design at Middlesex Polytechnic and ceramics and glass at the Royal College of Art. Initially, working with on-glaze transfers, my main concern when working with ceramics and glass is surface pattern. My designs are inspired by my love of the natural world. The use of printmaking techniques in my on-glaze experiments led me to examine printmaking in more depth.

I enjoy printmaking, I produce mainly etchings and lino cuts. However, the latest themes in my work are about to see me branching out into collagraphs. (This involves making a relief collage, inking it and printing the resulting texture.) For many years I have kept scrap books of quirky stories and imagery that appeal to me. These, combined with photographs that I take myself, feed into my work.

Recently, I have been producing mixed media work that I have titled, ‘Relics from a lost civilization’. It is all created with the similar themes in mind, those of environmental fragility, and the effect on animals of human activity. This group of work also references fossils, it is the evidence of the life and civilization on earth. When everything is gone. These may be the relics that are left behind.

I’m interested in producing more ceramics so at the moment, I’m looking for a kiln to hire in the Merseyside area. At the moment my work is on show at the Interesting Eating Company, Allerton Road, Liverpool. I am also taking part in a textiles and mixed media exhibition from 17th August – 9th September, private view 7-8.30 16th August.”

To check out more of Pamela’s work, see her website at http://www.pamela-holstein.co.uk/ and follow on Twitter @mis_bugg and her blog at Missbugg.tumblr.com.

Comments are closed.

