Blackpool and the Fylde Photography Graduate Nikki Clare

Nikki Clare is another Blackpool and Fylde photography graduate to reach the site, her project is a little different. A much more focused article, it shows her project which focuses on people who are living with a disability or illness and the careers and family members who care for them.

I am a recent graduate from Blackpool and the Fylde College finishing with a Ba (hons) degree in photography. Using documentary photography my work focuses around social issues including family loss, illness and disability that affect people in every day society.

My most recent photographic project explores the lives of people who are living with a disability or illness and the careers and family members who care for them. As I have been a carer in the past, looking after my Mother, I often found it really frustrating how there had been a lack of support for both myself, My Father and also my Mother. Not only was there a great deal of pressure placed on our family emotionally but also every day became a finical struggle. As the current government are cutting more and more support structures including benefits and access to funding for charities it is often the most vulnerable people in society that are the ones being targeted.

Over the next few years I hope to continue with this project working with a number of different families within different ages groups and cultures. I would also like to use my photography and work within the community conducting different photographic workshops exploring how photography can aid and benefit communication in all levels of society.

Follow Nikki Clare on her Website.

Comments are closed.

