Bolton University Textile and Surface Design Graduate Amy Tomlinson

Amy Tomlinson is another great graduate who’s work we saw at the recent Bolton University Graduate Degree show, her work mixes a whole host of techniques and media to create some interesting pieces of design.

My work explores different mixed media with detailed drawings and cad work. I use a lot of contrasting colours so that all my work links together. And the main inspiration for my current collection was from the recent exhibition ‘Treasures of Heaven saints, relic and devotion in medieval Europe’ at The British Museum. I also gathered inspiration from a collection of research trips to Churches, Cathedrals, Mosques and Synagogues from around the UK. This included Saint Giles’ Cathedral in Edinburgh and York Minster. I also looked at the work of different artist and designers such as Kirath Ghundoo, Manish Arora, Etro, Francois Berthoud, Christian Lacroix and Christian Dior. This research has had a positive influence on my designs and encouraged me to be more adventurous with my use of colour in my work.

I used several techniques and processes for this project including hand and machine Embroidery, Beading, embellishment, CAD, Digital print processes, drawing, painting, photography and collage.

I am a highly motivated individual who is very reliable and aspires to work in the textiles and surface design industry in the near future. I enjoy new challenges and am committed to developing my skills in the industry.

Follow Amy Tomlinson on her blog, Twitter @amyelitomlinson and Email: amytomlinson91@yahoo.co.uk

Comments
6 Responses to “Bolton University Textile and Surface Design Graduate Amy Tomlinson”
  1. Love your collection – in particular the wellies and the transparent mac – I want them! 🙂

