Cold as Ice Photography

Lauren has just completed her BA Hons degree at the University of Bolton, she works under the name of Cold as Ice Photography. I caught her work at the recent degree show and really loved her ice hockey shots that were on display.

After leaving high school I went to college to study performing music, but I soon realised that my want and desire to create and make my own photographs was stronger than the want and desire to create my own music. I saw the rest of the course through and went on to study a BTEC foundation in Art and Design at Manchester Metropolitan University. Once the course was completed, I began to study a BA (Hons) degree in photography at the University of Bolton.

My work is inspired by what captures my imagination, and what captures my imagination is sport. I’ve been an official photographer for two different ice hockey teams in the past three years. I spent two years with the Manchester Phoenix and one year with their rivals, the Sheffield SteelDogs. This has allowed me to indulge this passion, and it has also allowed me to learn the skills I need to work in that kind of environment.

I’m currently working on a project with a good friend of mine; Richard Allan, who is also a photographer with the Manchester Phoenix. This involves photographing ice hockey players in a studio-style situation. When not photographing ice hockey, I like to head down to Oulton Park and shoot the delights it has to offer. I recently gained media accreditation with Thundersport GB to shoot their race day.

My plans for the future are to become even more involved in sport. I want to expand into national and international sport. Some of my big ambitions are to photograph motor sport events like ice speedway, WRC and F1. I’d also like to photograph ice through out Europe and North America, especially the NHL Stanley Cup Finals. I would also like to photograph sporting events such as Wimbledon, the winter Olympics and various equestrian events.

Follow Lauren on her Website ‘Cold as Ice Photo,’ Facebook & Twitter @ColdAsIce07.

Comments are closed.

