Gavin Li Photography

Gavin Li is a photographer who has come from the small town of Cleveleys, he has just completed year two of his three year course at Blackpool and The Fylde College and still has two feet on the ground wanting to learn more about his craft.

My name is Gavin Li and I come from a small quiet town called Cleveleys where I’ve pretty much lived all my life. I first took photography in my A-levels knowing very little about it, this was because I knew I was more creative than academic and who knew that it would end up being my favourite subject. Right now I’m currently going into my 3rd year of BA Photography and Digital Design at Blackpool and The Fylde College and even though I’ve learnt a lot during my degree there’s still much more to learn.

I find people interesting and enjoy creating portraiture with narrative and lifestyle. My work is based on themes of representation and I have become influenced by the myths and stereotypes of modern society and the diversity of today’s subcultural identities. Being quite a movie fanatic, drama and cinema have inspired me and so has a long list of photographic artists. Some of my favourites include fine art and editorial photographers Gregory Crewdson, Philip-Lorca diCorcia, Ryan Schude and Reed Young.

During some work experience I’ve met fine art photographers Spencer Murphy and Steven Barritt whose work I greatly respect and they’ve inspired me to have a go at using film. I’ve also had a chance to work with commercial and editorial photographer Tom Van Schelvin, working as a photographer’s assistant has given me a taste of the industry and it’s something I want to do after my degree, which will hopefully be in London. As for now I’m focusing on my degree, building my portfolio, experimenting more and refining my style. I’m also having a look into doing some fashion photography as it’s something I’ve always wanted to have a shot at.

Follow Gavin Li on his Website and Tumblr.

Comments are closed.

