Bolton University Graphic Design Graduate Samantha Williams

Coming from the University of Bolton Samantha Williams has studied and just completed her degree in Graphic Design, although she isn’t your average fresh faced student. Samatha changed her career after being made redundant as a solicitor, I often think mature students going in creative courses often with more motivation to make a success of their work.

“I love art and design so much that when I was made redundant from my job as a solicitor I decided to re-qualify and do something I knew would make me want to get up in the mornings. I have always been interested in design and advertising, so after the redundancy I applied to the University of Bolton for a place on their Graphic Design course. My experience in the law definitely helped, as I am more aware of the needs of business clients and have developed good problem-solving skills, which are crucial for a designer.

I am especially interested in advertising and branding and have a keen interest in design theory. I produced course work on the role of the contemporary designer in the design process and this is something I would like to explore further in the future. I visit art galleries, exhibitions, and now even enjoy the ad breaks! It’s about always keeping your eyes and mind open. I really appreciate designers who are trying to make a difference in the world but there is some amazing and thought-provoking commercial designers out there too.

I am now looking for work in a design agency, preferably in the North West, but as I love learning I may study for a Masters at some point in the future. My final project is a book about Mental Health which I have been doing with support from Lancashire Mind and hopefully I will be taking that forward too. In my spare time I paint, take photographs and make jewellery and other craft items.”

Follow Samantha Williams on her LinkedIn and Behance online portfolio.

Comments
4 Responses to “Bolton University Graphic Design Graduate Samantha Williams”
  1. Beautiful work! Nice story about the career change too. It’s never too late to do something different! 🙂 Especially when you do it so well!

  2. inkyfaces says:

    I think this story demonstrates the bravery of someone changing career and definitely someone to inspire. Beautiful designs and would love to see more

