Stockport College Illustration Graduate Rosie Wilman

Rosie Wilman is a recent graduate of Stockport College and we first laid eyes on her work only a week or so back at their Graduate show we visited in Manchester ‘Grow.’ Her work has a great child like fun and warmth to her illustrations and we can definately see her work adorning children’s books in the future.

My name is Rosie Wilman and I have recently graduated from Stockport college after studying illustration for 3 years. Long before the degree I have had a passion for character design and bright colours. Was greatly influenced by cartoons and Disney films when I was younger and still love and find inspiration from them now.

During the three years of my degree I have been able to develop my love of character design into producing picture books for children. This is something I love and want to be doing professionally. For my final major project I wrote and illustrated a picture book called Rosie Rainbow Pig. The story was about learning to accept what makes you different and to embrace it. My dream is to one day have one of my picture books published.

I tend to favour a digital style of working but always try to keep a hand rendered element to each piece of work. I’m a fond of using painted textures, pencil scribbles and splats! Some of my major influences are Jon Burgerman, Eric Carle, Maurice Sendak and Charley Harper.

As well as children’s picture books I am also interested in developing my personal project, The Daily Monster, further. The Daily Monster was a challenge I set myself over a year ago to produce a new monster character everyday. The project is still going strong but I’d love to see my monsters become something more. My hope is to develop them into products such as posters, plush toys, calenders and wrapping paper. Being a new graduate entering the illustrative world feels quite daunting but I’m hoping that my child-like imagination and new found motivation will give me an edge.

Follow Rosie Wilman on her WebsiteTumblrFacebook and @RosiePosie_W on Twitter.

Comments are closed.

