Blackpool and Fylde College Photography Graduate Rachel Shallcross

Rachel first got into photography through doing her A-Levels alongside a BTEC in Art and Design whilst studying at Cardinal Newman College Preston. This love of photography began to grow and evolve through and she went onto study at Blackpool and Fylde College which she has a degree in BA hons Wildlife and Environmental photography.

‘My influences in photography have stemmed from renowned photographers Tim Flach and Britta Jaschinski, their work brings the viewer into close-up proximity with their animal subjects. Tim Flach especially brings his subjects into such close focus that the viewer begins to read gestures as we would the body language of a human figure.’

‘I have exhibited some of my Western Lowland Gorilla work at the cube gallery Manchester as part of the Lens based exhibition Infectious. In today’s society zoos are portrayed as an outlet for humans to get educated and to learn about these captive species, however to others they are considered as problematic as they give the opportunity for humans to see the preservation of animals as amusement or spectacle. This project aims to show what extent zoo’s are as a sanctuary for animals, by looking at the Western Lowland Gorilla my aim was to show their emotions, which emit problems to the viewer that zoos and animals in captivity isn’t the right solution.’

‘After graduation I hope to push my portfolio and work and to continue exploring the outdoors, getting close to some amazing animals and pushing my work to new heights.’

You can see my work at www.rachelshallcross.co.uk or contact me at rachelshallcross@hotmail.co.uk and  Twitter @rshallcross.

Comments are closed.

