Handmade Traditional Designs from Jo Lavelle Jewellery

Run from her studio in The Manchester Craft and Design Centre, Jo Lavelle Jewellery is based in Manchester’s Northern Quarter. Run by herself, jo uses traditional techniques and handmade designs and castings to create her work.

All my jewellery is handmade in silver using traditional jewellery making techniques and casting. I also use semi precious beads that I initially added to achieve more colour in my jewellery. However, they are now a permanent feature of my work and when added to my jewellery pieces usually create one off pieces and exhibition pieces.

My trademark style is that of movement within my jewellery and my most popular range is my pompom range. The pompom range is characterised by the use of small silver tags or loops that are bunched together in different ways creating a wonderful textural and layered shape that moves with the wearer.

My inspirations date back to watching relatives wearing jewellery, in particular charm bracelets that move, make noise and that are eye catching. I always knew I wanted to work creatively and at first thought I wanted to be a graphic designer but then I found a jewellery course and enrolled and completed a BTEC in Jewellery Design and then went on further to complete a degree in Metalwork and Jewellery at Sheffield University.

Having her studio open 6 days a week, Jo will can also be seen participating in The Art markets in Holmfirth on 24th June, Ladies Day at Oca in Sale to raise funds for The Christie. Later on this year in November she will be exhibiting at two prestigious selling events, Lustre that will take place at The Lakeside Arts Centre, (Nottingham University from the 9th – 11th November) and
Hereford Contemporary Craft Fair at The Courtyard, Edgar Street, Hereford 15th – 18th November.

  

You can see more of Jo’s work on her website at www.jolavellejewellery.com, Facebook, Twitter @Jojolavelle  CraftandDesign.com and theartmarkets.co.uk.

Comments
One Response to “Handmade Traditional Designs from Jo Lavelle Jewellery”
  1. Love the rings in the last image. Great urban, edgy jewellery!
    http://paulatasker.squarespace.com

