Merging Fine Art with Photography: Showcasing Lucy Ridges

Lucy Ridges merges the line between fantastic fine art and photography; her work has gained critical acclaim through various awards since 2008 having previously built on her education from Preston. Lucy currently works in Manchester with Rogue Artist Studios and divides her time between producing fine art photographs to sell and exhibit and by photographing portraits for clients.


Lucy Ridges is an award-winning artist whose credentials include;

  • Twice Nominee for the Black and White Spider Awards. 2008 & 2010
  • 2nd Place in the Silken Berlaymont Photo Plate Awards. August 2008
  • Honourable Mention in the Serbin Best Of Photography 2008 Award
  • Selected as a Finalist in the ‘Argazklik’ Photography Contest. May 2008
  • Awarded 1st Place in the ‘Northern Design’ Art Contest, Photography Section. June 2007
  • Northern lights Business of the month, may 2011,

Born in the south of England, I moved North in 2004 to study and have stayed put ever since. After completing my Fine Art degree in Preston in 2008, I moved over to Manchester and in 2011 I joined Rogue Artist Studios. I spent a few months setting up the space to be a photographic studio. Here is a short video of the set up of my studio space in 2011. 

I have been working with photography since I began studying Fine Art in 2005. Over the years, I have defined where my interest lies within the medium and have carved a business out of these interests. I am most interested in the surreal aspect of art and photography. I enjoy creating images that have no and need no explanation. The images are simply there to be enjoyed. I primarily work on medium format film and feel most at home shooting in black and white.

I divide my time between producing fine art photographs to sell as prints and to be exhibited, and by photographing portraits for clients. The two are very much connected. The portrait work I create is a little different from the usual in that rather than a portrait just serving a purpose for the client, the images also fulfil my creative vision as an artist. I have been exhibiting my photographs around the uk and abroad for the last 5 years and continue to do so. Currently I have an exhibition in Oak Street Café, in the Craft centre (in Manchester’s Northern Quarter.)

Follow Lucy on her WebsiteBlog, Twitter @lucyridges and Youtube channel.

Comments are closed.

