Millinery by Rosie Olivia

Here we expand to showcase the fashion talents and designs of Rosie Olivia. Launched only 10 months ago, the brand is taking shape and expanding through each month. Today, owner Rosie tells us more about the business and her experiences learning under the stewardship of Stephen Jones, Philip Treacy and Victoria Grant in recent internships.

Rosie Olivia was her way of giving it a go herself especially as she really loved and enjoyed the art of millinery! During the ten months, she has been working to creating collections (SS and AW) as well as creating over 70 bespoke hats. Here, Rosie gives us a little more background information in her journey to creating the brand:

“I studied Decorative Arts in Nottingham Trent university in which I received a 1st Degree Hons which definitely gave me a boost in confidence that I have a creative talent that should not be wasted! I went onto complete a short course in Central St. Martins in millinery during university to pickup the basics of creating a hat. I have a love of hats and accessories and think putting on a hat can change a whole outfit. They make you feel great in a similar way to when you put on a pair of heels!

I wanted to have a career in the creative industries and millinery was more eccentric and interesting than clothing. I feel my work can be daring and show more of my own style in each piece. A hat has to fit the head perfectly and look great with the shape of your face. For my bespoke clientele, they come and try to all different shapes and sizes before finalising the right not and then we work on colour and then trimmings! It’s a fun experience!

I learnt most of my millinery skills from working at Philip Treacy, Stephen Jones and Victoria Grants. Each designers work taught me something different, I learnt everything from design to creating a finished product as well as dealing with clients, finishing a hat and making sure it fits the clients expectations. However I wanted to create my own collection, I didn’t want my talent to be lost working for someone else. Seeing that finished product on a client is a brilliant feeling! 

I like to use my brand ‘Rosie Olivia’ to get involved in local charity and fashion events, it’s really important for me to get my brand out there and known for creating high end, well made creative headwear. This year some of my AW12 collection will be sold in Fenwicks Bond Street in London from September which will soon be followed on my SS13 collection.

See more of Rosie Olivia Online, Follow on Facebook and @millineryrosieo on Twitter.

Comments are closed.

