Graphic Designer and UCLAN student Nick Seville

We kick off this week’s features of up-and-coming creatives with graphic designer and student at UCLAN – Nick Seville. Like many motivated designers, Nick is currently gaining experience in various studios and working hard to build up his portfolio. Here, the man himself describes more about his creative background.

“I have always had a creative side to me, always wanting to draw or scribble something down when ever I could. I didn’t really know what I wanted to do when I left college, only that I liked building things and experimenting to see what I could make. I always played around with a few design programmes back in college but I never saw myself as a designer. My dad wanted a logo and stationary doing for his business so I offered to do it. He really liked what I did and suggested that I looked into doing it as a career, so after some thought and gentle persuasion I decided to go to university.

I’m currently a 3rd year graphic design student at University of Central Lancashire. Before taking on my final year studies at university, I decided to take a year out to gain experience in real life studios in London and Manchester. Working in studios has helped me develop my ideas and also help me learn from my mistakes, I think it’s the only way to learn what not to do next time.

The area I most like to work on, is packaging. I’ve always liked constructing objects and creating packaging that has rarely been seen or produced before, I feel it’s a nice challenge for me. With a lot of companies moving towards web-based design, I decided to learn web design. This eventually helped me to work on a few websites for local companies such as Sharp Freight International.

My work isn’t affiliated to a particular style or way of working, I’ve always been the type of person that when I get an idea, i like to think big which is probably a disadvantage sometimes. This is why you probably notice a varied style in my work, as I like my work to communicate and not just be pretty. I don’t have a particular place where I’m inspired; I think as a designer, Just getting out to watch a film, read a book or go for a cycle, can help spark an idea for me.

I’m Influenced by a lot of things, particularly American vintage and script typography. I would love to go to the neon boneyard in Vegas which I admit is a bit geeky but I just find it so intriguing. I have a very busy year ahead of me, with a few digital projects underway as well as my final year at university to pay some attention to, but I’m always looking to get stuck in to a project if I feel I can bring something to the table.”

Keep up with what Nick is doing on his Website, Twitter @nickseville1 and Facebook.

Comments are closed.

