Warrington Based Photographer Lorna Roberts

Lorna Roberts is based in Warrington and describes that she has always been ‘arty’, explaining that she first started to dabble into photography through her teens. Lorna’s Photography work in recent weeks and months has expanded more into shooting production stills for film and also music videos. Here, we find out a bit more about her creativity and experiences.

After first dabbling into photography in her teens, it was during her twenties that she started to take it all a bit more seriously, and started buying books and teaching herself as much as she could: “I continued like this for a number of years, picking up my camera whenever I was feeling a bit lost, and teaching myself more and more. Each time I did, I fell a little bit more in love with it. Then back in 2009, my husband and I took a month out to travel around Australia and New Zealand. Before we went, I bought myself my first DSLR camera and while we were away my camera never left my side.”

That time out helped her to re-evalutate her life and in Feburary 2010, she booked herself onto a photography wedding course at Annabel Williams CPT, which really captured her imagination. After shooting her first wedding, Lorna’s work progressed from there and spent the next 12 months learning on the Bespoke course; this allowed her to be taught by top UK photographers, as well as gaining valuable business and marketing ideas.

Keeping scrapbooks of images helps Lorna document the amount of places she draws her inspirations from and she takes a lot of inspiration from creative people and friends.

“I love the freedom that photography brings and I love the people I get to meet and work with. No two shoots are the same, so it brings variety too. For me personally, it feels much more natural and inspiring to shoot people outside rather than in a studio, that’s why all of my shoots take place outside on location.”

My shooting style is pretty relaxed and informal. I don’t really like having my photograph taken, so I feel that this helps me to relate to clients that might be a bit nervous in front of the camera. I think one of my favourite things is presenting the images to clients after a shoot. Where possible, I visit the client in their home and do a private viewing on a big screen – I always feel warm and fuzzy when I see their reaction for the first time. It’s at that point I know I’ve done my job right!”

Visit Lorna’s website, email: hello@lrobertsphoto.co.uk, and follow on Facebook and @lrobrtsphoto on Twitter.

Comments
One Response to “Warrington Based Photographer Lorna Roberts”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] was featured on Business Boom Bolton. Please head on over and check it […]



