Industrial & Product Designs by Ben Illidge!

Product design is on the cards for you this morning, with promising student and all-round enthusiastic designer Ben Illidge. In this feature, Ben gives us an incite into Loughborough University and reveals some of the interesting projects he is currently working on:

“I became increasingly interested in design throughout my secondary education and sort to develop my skills at University, with my passion for the subject evolving through my continual development on the Industrial Design course at Loughborough. I have been privileged in that it has provided me with strong experience and excellence in a vast range of areas in design, from educating me to a high level in CAD and a range of design based software, to an extensive knowledge in methods of research and developing my ideas through sketching. These skills have enabled me to not only design a product that is aesthetically pleasing and well presented but one that is also well considered.

A sleek, compact and sustainable reinvention of the highchair

I have always been enthused by how good design can actively improve the lives of those less fortunate than myself. Having experienced this first hand through how assistive technology can dramatically improve the lives of the ill or disabled, I am keen to focus my attentions upon developing more life enhancing products that are both aesthetically pleasing and functionally superior.

At this time, I am actively looking for a year long placement starting this summer. Following a placement I intend to finish my degree and look for a permanent position and to fulfill my life long ambition to become a product designer. I am currently working on an improved solution to keeping food warm on the move. Working with Morgan Motors and geared towards use on the mountain, the project aims to cater for a healthy, active and social individual looking for the versatility of eating there own food, in a extreme or remote locations, whilst also avoiding the extortionate costs of buying food mountain side.”

CAD Fixed Gear Bike

GoPro Lens Cap

GoPro Lens Cap Mould Tool

Morgan Heated Food Container

Morgan Heated Food Container

Surface Modelling USB

See more of Ben’s designs on Coroflot and contact the man himself at ben.illidge@gmail.com.

Comments are closed.

