Interview with Fashion Photographer Lucie Crewdson

Today we share with you an interview we are proud to have put together with up-and-coming fashion photographerLucie Crewdson. Although still emerging from a university course, she has developed an inspiring and varied portfolio of work with various strands of experimental, fashion and lookbook shots.

Hi Lucie, how do you fit into the North West creative scene? How do you split your time between photography and university?

I am Lucie Crewdson, a 27 year old photographer originally from the Lake District and now based in Manchester and in my second year studying Photography at Manchester School of Art. Most of my time is currently dedicated to my degree but outside of my course I like to create photo shoots and work with models and a wonderful hair stylist/MUA called Jacob James. I plan to spend the Summer working with a couple of stylists on some new work. I have also started to work on commercial commissions for clients including the Manchester brand, BarneysMcr.

What types of projects do you undertake at the moment? Have you had a favourite project you’ve worked on so far?

Outside of uni I have started to look at more editorial and commercial projects. I also enjoy more personal documentary mini projects where I shoot with a 35mm film camera and explore capturing the everyday with a series of snapshots. At university I am working on continuing a style I have discovered over my first two years. I like to produce narrative shoots where I look at ongoing themes including the female figure, anxiety and escapism and the boundaries of art and fashion. I never really have favourite work but I am currently working on a project titled ‘Hidden’ which is a mixture of exploring a fashion aesthetic and a documentary home life theme. This work is for a group exhibition of Manchester School of Art students which is to be held at Kraak Gallery on may 9th, follow the Exhibition blog Seenandtheunseen.

Do you see your future work to be more commercial? What brands and clients would you see yourself working with in the future?

I find the challenge of creating commercial work a really exciting one especially when thinking how far you can push it creatively so I really hope to work commercially in the future. I don’t know who may want to employ me but if I could pick anyone to shoot for it would be many of the style magazines especially i-D. Brand wise I love the photography and styling created by Topshop for their advertising campaigns.

What drew you to study in Manchester? What do you think about the creative community in Manchester?

I love how Manchester has its own distinct character and every time I visited I wanted to stay, so it was the right choice for me to move to for University. There is a lot going on in Manchester creative-wise,more than people may realise I think. I have discovered recently more and more creative businesses in the city which is exciting when looking for people to work with!

Shining the spotlight on your class at university, how has it gone so far and do you see any of your colleagues that stand out who are on their way to big things?

Manchester School of Art is a great place to study Photography. I would say though that you are expected to be very independent with your studies and that doesn’t suit everyone but I find it very rewarding and I think it helps you to be able to find your own style. There is a lot of talent on the course that I wouldn’t know who to choose apart from the rest; there is the chance to see all the 2nd years exhibiting this May in a series of four group exhibitions. Also the final year photographers are taking their degree show to London for the very first time and you can follow their journey on their blog manchestertolondon.

Who are your biggest design/creative influences on your work? Which artists inspire your work today?

I have been hugely influenced by Alexander McQueen and his collaborations with Nick Knight and Katy England, their work made me want to move into imagery rather than design. I love the aesthetic developed in the nineties and would class the work of Corinne Day and Wolfgang Tillmans as a big inspiration. At the moment I am researching the work of Paolo Roversi which is amazing, and I like the style of Bella Howard, Saga Sig and Ellen Rogers!

Do you have well laid plans for the work and achievements you want to accomplish in the next 5-10 years? What route do you want to take after university?

Ideally I would like to work as a freelance photographer, particularly working for fashion designers, brands and producing editorial for style magazines. I would love to have my own successful magazine, I have been obsessed with them them since a little girl! I am very interested in working with new and upcoming fashion designers to create imagery and it would be amazing to travel to different countries for work. I think just earning money from producing my own work would make me very happy though! I hope through my final year at university to build up contacts and hopefully leave with a confident and experimental portfolio.

Social networks have brought a lot of exciting opportunities, what sites have you found most useful to use personally and professionally?

Twitter is the most interesting opportunity wise as you can see what is going on in so many creative companies and get a small insight into how places work and to interact with people you would never normally get the chance to.

Who are your favourite people to follow on Twitter/Facebook?

I like to follow a mixture of magazines such as i-D and Dazed and Confused, and photographers including Ellen Rogers and Bella Howard.

Outside of design, what things do you to to relax and unwind?

I love music, so going to gigs is my favourite thing to do outside of photography. The two often end up combining though!

Thanks Lucie, we’re sure we’ll be seeing more from you in the future! 

Follow Lucie Crewdson on Twitter @luciecrewdson, Tumblr, her Blog and Portfolio.

Don’t miss previous photography features with; Amanda Littler & Laimonas Stasiulis.

Read more interviews with;

Comments are closed.

