Adorable Sock Friends by Apryl Callaghan!

It’s a pleasure today to showcase to you the work Apryl Callaghan, a local crafts enthusiast and creator of the cute and cuddly Sock Friends! Browsing through the various products, all of Apryl’s Sock Friends seem to show their own unique personalities and so, it’s no wonder why her business is going from strength to strength:

My name is Apryl Callaghan. I am based in Stalybridge and I sell my sock friends under the name of Sock Friends by Ev K Kreations!

I first came across sock monkeys in early summer 2010 and thought I would have a go at making some myself, with the intention of only making them for my own kids, my nephews back home in Ireland and some friends. However, soon demand was high, so I opened my Facebook page in late august 2010. It’s gone from strength to strength since launching. Although my main product are the sock monkeys, which I make in 4 sizes, I do enjoy creating different sock animals such as giraffes, soc-t-pus, caterpillars aswell as the sock monsters and meta men, made from toe socks. I take custom orders for personalized items as well as special edition makes like bride and groom sock monkeys and pirate and fairy sock monkeys.

I love the process of taking a pair of socks and stuffing and transforming them into cute and snuggly sock friends, which make super gifts for all ages and also make a great decorative item for your home. I have some new sock friends planned for 2012!

I have always been fairly creative; I bake, make cards, knit as well as do cross stitching and sewing. One of my main inspirations for my creative side was my maternal grandmother, whom I named my little venture after. My grandmother was a whizz with knitting needles and also enjoyed painting. My other inspirations for my work are my two young children, this started as a way to unwind after my day with them.

My facebook page is my main online selling point – www.facebook.com/sockfriendsbyevkkreations. My profile name is Apryl Ev King. I have attended many North West based craft fairs and markets since June 2011 and have booked more for 2012. I love meeting new people and seeing their reactions to my creations. Follow myself and my sock friends on Twitter at http://twitter.com/EvKKreations. I am hoping to get a website set up at some point this year. Thanks for reading! 

Comments
3 Responses to “Adorable Sock Friends by Apryl Callaghan!”
  1. Who thought socks could be so adorable! These are really wonderful – I especially like the striped sock monkey with fluffy beard. Awwww! I’ve joined Apryl’s FB page. Great work!

