Life is a Catwalk: Debut Article From Fashion Lover Damon Clewes!

My Name is Damon Clewes. I’m 23 years old and currently living in Cheshire, studying Fashion Design at Chester University. Over the past few years I have found myself in many different job rolls in and around the fashion industry, from styling models on photo shoots to hairdressing on set’s and now I find that I have naturally progressed into studying fashion design so that I can create my own vision through my garments. 

I have found myself being drawn to the fashion industry from a young age, starting way back in high school with my passion for the arts. Studying dance for most of my childhood and throughout my teens first nurtured my interest in the human form. In my late teens, I studied hairdressing and makeup, working in a salon as a stylist. As a hairdresser, keen make-up artist and fashion designer in the making I strive to excel in everything I do. I am, if nothing a perfectionist and plan to gain distinction in my Fashion degree and thereafter. I’m just starting out on this whole venture and at the moment I feel the sky’s the limit, but as I am only just starting on my fashion journey I am trying to focus some of my time on networking to gain some momentum with my work. It seems to me that in this industry who you know is just as important as how much talent you have. I have recently started my own webpage “D’Amon Maison De La Mode“. It is still a work in progress and I have a lot of little projects keeping me very busy, alongside the heavy workload that Chester University provides me with!

When I find a gap in my somewhat hectic schedule, I find my self feeling very at home browsing through rails and rummaging through piles of neatly stacked clothes on Manchester’s fashionable King Street, Vivienne Westwood being my haven of choice. A typical shopping trip for me would almost always start with a Starbucks coffee before heading out on my hunt for that special purchase we all seem to be in constant search of or a few exciting accessories to transform an already amazing outfit into something incredible.

Vivienne Westwood Men's - Autumn 2011

When it comes to my own work, I draw my inspiration from an array of different things; musicians, current designers and from time to time people passing by in the bustling streets of Manchester, after all it has been said “life is a cat walk.’’ With one of the largest student populations in Europe, Manchester seems to have evolved its own unique style and everyone seems to embrace his or her own individuality. For me, this is incredibly important and something I think about when I’m designing my own garments. I’ve had many “designer crushes” over the years. William Tempest being the latest, not so much for his work but for the fact he attended the same small town college as me and is now a respected designer across many celebrity circles – that is the dream!

William Tempest

I have a long-standing love affair with anything McQueen or Westwood. The drive and passion they showed in their early career is, in my opinion, the reason they rose to fame. Of Course, they have been blessed with an incredible eye for detail; one can only be born with, but the point is they have never lost that passion. That fire in their stomach, the fashion bug as it were, and I have it!!

La Modella Mafia Alexander McQueen, Spring 2011

When all the humdrum of college is a thing of the past and I am in search of my next fashion fix, I’d love to find a job as a fashion buyer. Traveling the world in search of new trends and that “must have item” everybody is talking about. Ultimately it is my dream to have my own internationally recognized label one day, and I know its going to be a long road but I’m prepared to start at the bottom and work my way up. I really have no complaints. You’ll be hearing a lot from me in the future I guarantee.

Be sure to check out my future articles on Business Boom Bolton! You can follow me on Twitter @Damon_Clewes and on my blog http://www.damonclewes.blogspot.com.

Comments
8 Responses to “Life is a Catwalk: Debut Article From Fashion Lover Damon Clewes!”
  1. I enjoyed this article immensely and found it quite refreshing that a young fashion entrepeneur like Damon already has such a keen eye for detail and great design, knowing what is currently ‘in’ and what is ‘not’. He has drawn on his own life experiences and I hope someone influential in the rag trade/fashion industry gives him the start along this path he needs. I love Vivienne Westwood design – she always stands out with her unique creativity and there is absolutely no reason why this talented young man can’t follow in her footsteps and create his own wonderful range of ‘cutting edge’ clothes. Susan Sproston – Wirral, Merseyside.

  2. Sian Clarke says:

    cant wait for the day someone is sat writing their first article about you as their biggest inspiration. Beautifully talented. We will all see you at the top.

  3. C’est magnifique! “D’Amon Maison De La Mode“ has a certain je ne sais quoi don’t you think? What an inspirational passage Damon, I’m sure your future success shall be astronomical x

  4. brilliant first article!!! Such an easy read, you sound like you have a good head on your young shoulders! It’s so nice to hear someone with such passion and drive for what they do, with an attitude like yours you will surly join the elite of fashion designers we all know and love. i predict big things for Mr Damon Clewes, huge things in fact!!!

  5. Beautifully written! I’m not much of a reader, but this got me hooked and I can’t wait to read more from you in the future!!! ❤

