Unique Bags For The Classy Lady

Today we introduce North West creative business Clasibags! Having had an interest in crafting for most of her life, owner Claire started the business after creating a few items for her friends as gifts. The idea was born to bring back her craft skills and set about to make them fashionable once again. Here, I hand over to Claire to tell us more about her business and how it has grown in the past few months!

I have been crafting for most of my life. I love creating things and have moved from one medium to another; from card making, lamp work, bead making to  jewellery making and knitting. I love looking back on my work in the 80’s and thinking “WOW I actually created that myself!”. I used to knit a lot but as hand knitting went out of fashion, so did my interest until a few years ago whilst browsing the internet.  I spotted a knitted bag and it struck me  as I had never seen anything quite like it. So, I made up some examples, gave them to friends as presents and received some really good feedback; this then lead to ‘Clasibags‘ being born!

“Clasibags – unique bags for the classy lady.”

The bags themselves are very basic. The secret is in the wool that I use, I favour the ‘eyelash’ type of yarn which makes my bags not only look nice, but makes them really tactile.  I expanded my range from just plain knitted bags to felted ones; the felting produces a really hard-wearing fabric ideal for bags. Felt is actually one of the earliest known types of textile.  I love mixing different colours of wool together and seeing the results and I revel in the excitement of opening up the washing machine after the felting process has taken place and seeing the results – it’s like magic!

No two of my bags are ever the same, they are always different so whoever buys a Clasibag can be sure of something totally unique.

See the full range on the Clasibags Online Store.

Follow Clasibags on Facebook and @clasibags on Twitter.

Comments are closed.

